On Developing A Skincare Routine

facewash 2

I get breakouts. It’s gotten better over the years, but I don’t think this will go away completely. So it seems odd to me that I’m talking about developing a skincare routine when I don’t have perfect, glowing, model-like skin. But alas, I really started thinking about skincare while I was in Florida, since everyone down south seemed to have glow-y, dewey skin. I looked at my dry, wrinkly hands and beginning crow’s feet, and thought I should probably do something about it NOW.

The one thing I’ve gotten right? I’ve been using moisturizer since I was 18 (Thanks, mom!).

So let’s at least partially check out the Develop a skincare routine, eh? Because I’ve been working on it. Have been doing it. And will just need to increase it a smidge to be more consistent.

Anyway..To the products (that’s what matters most anyway!).IMG_5714(In order of use, from day to night, listed below)

  1. Spectrum Organic Coconut Oil, Refined. This jar lasts me 3-4 months, and costs roughly $7 at Target (It’s in the food section). I use this every morning to wash my face, and sometimes at night to take off my eye makeup. If I’ve got oil, paint, eyeliner, or something else gnarly on my hands, I use this to clean it off. I LOVE it. It doesn’t dry out my face and doesn’t make me break out either.
  2. Yes To Grapefruit Daily Correcting Moisturizer. This lasts about 2 months, and costs roughly $14 at Target (it’s in the moisturizer/body lotion section). I use this every morning after the shower, but before I put on makeup. I’ve experimented with all the moisturizers from Yes To brand, and I like this the best.
  3. Dove Cream Oil Body Lotion. I’ll admit the only reason why I have this product is because an ex-bf broke up with me and left it—and it was a full bottle at the time. I like that the product doesn’t smell much, isn’t thick, and leaves me feeling smooth. It’s roughly $5 for the bottle, and has lasted a year. I’m not sure if I’d continue with the Dove stuff once I run out though. I need to be better about using lotion all over rather than just on my legs after I shave.
  4. Oatmeal and Shea Whipped Body Butter. Depending on how dry I am, I’ll use this stuff during the day, but I typically stick it on at night. It’s made from a local company in Harrisburg, Nebraska, and I LOVE it. It’s thick, made from goat’s milk, and runs about $14 a jar. This stuff has lasted me a year. I only use it in extreme cases but hope to use it more often with this skincare routine.
  5. Yes To Carrots Daily Cream Facial Cleanser. This stuff is great. I use it at night only because it zaps imperfections and sets the tone for the night. It’s 98% natural ingredients, and costs about $5. It’s in the skincare aisle at Target with the rest of the Yes To products. A bottle lasts me about 3 months. This one may be too harsh for folks who don’t break out….so I’d suggest the Cucumber face wash for those folks!
  6. MaryKay Nighttime Restore and Recover Lotion. (I use Normal/Dry) At $40 a pop for this small bottle, I was hesitant to order it from MaryKay. But literally one less-than-dime-size amount works PERFECTLY to cover my entire face. I stick this on before bed. And even though I’ve only used it two or three times since I’ve gotten it, I think I’m hooked. I can see a noticeable difference in how quickly my face heals and resets itself.
  7. Benefit It’s Potent Eye Cream. My lovely friend, Elizabeth, mentioned this on our weekend trip to Florida in June. I made a mental note to try it, since many of the eye creams I’ve seen these days are goopy, smell like Oil of Olay, and marketed toward the older crowd. It’s $30 at Sephora. A little goes an extremely long way. I dip the edge of my finger into the pot and have enough for both eyes with that. I expect it will last for 6 months.

timefothatTruth. I don’t have time, or inclination, to make my own products. So I’m only interested in purchasing items that other people have made. Period. I know the products above seem expensive when put together, but I buy them at different times throughout the year….so the costs are really spread out.

I do sometimes use MaryKay’s Timewise Age-Fighting Moisturizer, but I find the Yes To stuff is cheaper, and lasts longer. At some point I may work my way back to this one. But for right now, it’s easy to just go to the store and pick up my own whenever I need it.

As an aside that is incredibly important to me: Only one product above has SPF in it: Yes To Grapefruit Daily Correcting Moisturizer has SPF 15. And I’m a-okay with that amount. Layering various items with SPF doesn’t give you better coverage, and some SPF ingredients can be harmful. Not to mention some SPF ingredients can cause irritation and even make your skin drier (hard to believe since most sunscreen is typically really greasy-feeling).

After writing this post, I feel sort of high-maintenance. And that I need to add a #firstworldproblem hashtag to this. I can live without everything above, and I’ll still have skin if I don’t use any of it. But it makes me feel better that I’m taking care of my skin somehow, and that I may end up extending my youth and look 21 when I’m 80.

One can dream 😉

On Developing A Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

